Stuff We Carry And A Band Tee

March 27, 2013

IMG_2357

The picture above is me modeling my very first and oldest band tee. I grew up listening to a once popular Christian pop group called ZOEgirl from the time I was about twelve until they disband in late 2006. Most people today might not remember them, but this group and their songs carried me through great trials as a teenager. Their songs gave me hope and encouraged me to keep pressing on and to look to God in hard times. Their songs spoke to a teenage girls heart having to deal with relationships, peer pressure, and self esteem. Now being in my early 20’s, I know I will still carry this group and their positive influence with me for the rest of my life.

Just thinking about carrying good things from my past with me to my future, what about all the really bad and hurtful things that we as Christians carry with us through out our lives? Sometimes we don’t realize all the hurt we keep inside and hold on to. Sure we put a smile on our face and try to not think about the past, but letting it go and forgetting about it all is a whole different story. Then there is the getting through the hard and hurtful times and remembering what life was like before those things happened to us.

We all have different strong and weak points. Some people can get through hard times a lot faster and easier than others can. Then there are those who have a more difficult time. I’ve discovered that I am one hard egg. Getting over brokenness has not been an easy road for me. However, God deals with me with patience, love, understanding, listening, and Him feeling the pain with me has given me great comfort. I’ve been learning this about God through suffering. And it has been a great thing and causing me to have a more intimate relationship with him because of brokenness. Not only that, but brokenness increases compassion and being more sensitive to another’s need who I will meet later down the road. God has been showing me that through brokenness, I will take this more intimate relationship with me to the future instead of taking with me the memories of being hurt. Take with me to the future the insight of seeing more of who God is to me when I am broken and allow it to give me comfort, growth and peace for when another season of brokenness comes along. Take with me of how God changed my heart to love Him more, to let Him take care of the healing process, and to give love to others. All of the above, my heart has discovered because I spent more time in His Word where He reveals His heart to me. “Do not call to mind the former things, or ponder things of the past. Behold, I will do something new, now it will spring forth; will you not be aware of it? I will even make a roadway in the wilderness, rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43:18-19 NASB.

In the heat of the moment, we see nothing but our hurt because we are flesh. It’s not a normal thing for a human being to step out of the flesh and be in tune with the Spirit ( 1 Corinthians 15:46 ). But as Christians, it is the only way we can ever see God because it is a choice, a step of faith, trust, and choosing to rely on God. It does take some practice. It takes a lot of getting up and falling down and getting up again. But every time we do the right thing, we are getting closer to who we are suppose to be and becoming more like Christ even when we don’t feel like it. Then we look back and see just how God was in each step we took in going right and realize we were never alone in it to begin with. What a great story to give to someone who is in need of hope, compassion, and love.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For just as the sufferings of Christ are ours in abundance, so also our comfort is abundant through Christ. ” 2 Corinthians 1:3-5 NASB.

Leave a Reply

